RSS

The Masks We Wear

01 Mar

(Pastor’s Note: What follows is a piece from five years ago (!) that was not presented with Ash Wednesday in mind; and yet does speak to the need for prayerful penitence as we begin our Lenten journey to the cross of Jesus Christ)

Pastoral Ponderings

“You desire truth in the inward being; therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.” – Psalm 51:6 (NRSV)

One of my early childhood memories is that of a classroom Halloween party when I was in kindergarten in which I was dressed up as . . . a dog!  As I recall, it wasn’t that elaborate as costumes go – just a molded paper mask we’d bought at a neighborhood store, the kind with to holes cut where the eyes are supposed to be, and a rubber band to hold it up to your face.  But even now what I remember is that when I put that mask on, I felt transformed!  With that mask in place, I was a dog – growling, barking and rescuing wayward children in danger, just like Lassie did on TV (Even at the age of five, you see, I had an over-active imagination!).

I…

View original post 701 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2017 in Sermon

 

Leave a Reply

 
